Marshall County Commission Meeting Minutes – 3/20/2023

The Board of Marshall County Commissioners met in regular session with Keith Bramhall, chairman, Fritz Blaske, member, Jon Ungerer, member and Sandra Wilson, County Clerk present. Chris Pannbacker with the Marysville Advocate was also present for the meeting.

Commissioner Bramhall called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. The meeting was opened with the flag salute.

Fritz Blaske moved, seconded by Keith Bramhall to approve the minutes of the 03/13/2023 regular meeting and the agenda for today’s meeting. Unanimous.

Public Works Administrator Mike Craig met with the Board.

Fritz Blaske moved, seconded by Jon Ungerer to approve the following purchase orders. Unanimous.

Hilltop Tires, LLC, Marysville, KS
For Tires & repairs
$2,407.80-Road & Bridge Fund-P.O. #109421

KDOT Bureau of Fiscal Services, Topeka, KS
For County match for local road safety plan
$5,765.54-Road & Bridge Fund-P.O. #109422

Keith Bramhall moved, seconded by Jon Ungerer to approve the Request for Exchange of Federal Funds in the amount of $97,830.14. Unanimous.

Agency on Aging Director Ashley Lyhane met with the Board to give update on meals and transportation numbers. She reported that she received notification that she will be receiving the grant for upgrading workout equipment. She will be attending a virtual meetings for transit & technology and commodities next week.

Keith Bramhall moved, seconded by Fritz Blaske to approve step raise for Jodi Martin from Clk I St II at $19.60/hr to Clk II St I at $19.91/hr effective March 1, 2023. Unanimous.

County Counselor Jason Brinegar met with the Board. Nothing pending at this time.

Keith Bramhall moved, seconded by Fritz Blaske to approve the following purchase order. Unanimous.

KWORCC, Topeka, KS
For 2023 Work Comp Contribution
$63,879.00-Employee Benefits – Work Comp Fund-P.O. #6890

Jon Ungerer moved, seconded by Keith Bramhall to appoint Fredrick Gee as Trustee to fill the position vacated by Gary Weyer. Unanimous.

County Clerk Sandy Wilson met with the Board. Fritz Blaske moved, seconded by Jon Ungerer to approve step raise for Kim Nolte from Clk I St I to Clk III at $20.79/hr. Unanimous.

Appraiser Francine Crome met with the Board. Employee Donna Alwin has submitted her 2 week notice of resignation, her last day being March 31st. Appraiser Francine Crome asked the Board permission to advertise for this vacancy. The Board voiced their wishes to possibly not replace the 5th employee and revisit the situation in a few months. Appraiser Francine Crome would like to get a new employee on Board as soon as possible to train during the upcoming maintenance review.

Keith Bramhall moved, seconded by Fritz Blaske to go into executive session per KSA 75-4319(b)(1) to discuss matters of non-elected personnel – potential hire with the Board present with the right to call in Francine Crome to return to open session in the Board meeting room at 10:10 a.m. Unanimous.

The Board gave Appraiser Francine Crome permission to advertise for the open position.

Keith Bramhall moved, seconded by Jon Ungerer to approve vouchers as presented and issue manual checks. Unanimous.

Commissioner Bramhall made a call to Craig Kilbourn with Network Computer Solutions to set up a time for him to attend a Board meeting to discuss various projects for upgrading some technology and to discuss the new health department. Mr. Kilbourn agreed to attend the meeting on Monday the 28th and Clerk Sandy Wilson will be in contact with him for a time that will work.

Commissioner Bramhall has approved 11th Rd from Quail Rd as an exit route only for the empty rock trucks. The trucks will enter via Quail Rd from Hwy 77 – dump then exit via 11th Rd S to Hwy 9.

Jon Ungerer moved, seconded by Fritz Blaske to adjourn the meeting at 10:45 a.m. Unanimous. The next regularly scheduled meeting will be held on Monday, March 27, 2023 beginning at 8:30 a.m.

Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2020 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.


― Advertisement ―


― Advertisement ―



― Advertisement ―

95.5 KNDY

1570/94.1 KNDY



Q 106.7 & 102.5 KQNK