Marysville USD 364 Special Board Meeting Highlights – 5-24-17

- Advertisement -

Special Board Meeting Highlights
May 24, 2017
6:00 P.M.

Members Present: Lanny Carpenter, Marc Degenhardt, Chris Denner, Kevin Samuelson,
Steve Schotte and Sonya Stohs (Todd Milner was absent.)

Following discussion on what the district’s responsibility should be in providing transportation to summer camps for basketball, wrestling, etc., approved to leave the transportation the same as last year, which is for these teams to pay only for the gas to use the school vehicles, and to study this for next year possibly to charge mileage or a fee. (The student athletes and coaches are responsible for getting themselves to the summer league games.) Motion carried 6-0.

Discussed budget projections and Capital Outlay Projections.

Discussed excess bond funds, priority of projects, and estimated costs.

Mike Mayo discussed preliminary drawings for the Jr. Sr. High Office Renovation.

Approved moving forward on the Jr. Sr. High Administrative Office Suite renovation, authorizing up to $350,000. Funding will be a combination of Capital Outlay and Bond Funds. The Finance Committee will work with Mr. Mullins to finalize the allocation from each fund. Motion carried 6-0.

Approved the 2017-2018 Negotiated Agreement between USD #364 and MEA (Marysville Education Association) as submitted for ratification. Motion carried 6-0.

Approved extended contract days as presented and modified in executive session. (List attached) Motion carried 6-0.

Accepted the resignation of Tina Price, 1st Grade Teacher at Marysville Elementary.
Motion carried 6-0.

Offered a classified contract to David Weir as Custodian at the Junior/Senior High, and offer a certified contract to Kathleen Huff as Counselor at Marysville Elementary.
Motion carried 6-0.

Mr. Schotte left the meeting.

Approved Extra Duty Appointments as presented. (List attached)
Motion carried 4-1. (Mr. Degenhardt voted no.)

Mr. Schotte returned to the meeting

Meeting Adjourned at 8:39 P.M.

Extended Contract Days Approved Summer 2017

Bruna, Jeanne

Meals, Annelle   20
Hoover, Amy   3
Hynek, Karen   5
Kracht, Lynn   4
Mattingly, Cindy   10
Miller, Deb   1
Nelsen, Deb   4
Busch, Ali   10
Huerter, Kathy   2
Spicer, April   2
Wolfe, Carla   4
Wood, Sheila      5.5 Hours
Habig, Diana 22 Hours


  Head Coach Asst. Coach
Fall Sports
Cross Country John Rueger
Football Dustin Heuer Landon Wright
Lucas Packett
Mitchell Shepherd
Chris Butler
Bert Lord
Kyle Goracke
Volleyball Darren Schroeder Margaret Schotte
Maggie Schotte
Tennis Mary Kessinger-Wassom Rachel Massoth (if needed)
JH Football Cole Fredrickson J.I. Hornung
Dillon Blake
Scott Brown
JH Volleyball Amy Renyer approved Vickie Smith
Anna Berger
Winter Sports
HS Boys Basketball Scott Brown David Heyd
Marvin Schlatter
HS Girls Basketball Amy Renyer approved J.I. Hornung
Ross Wright
HS Wrestling Cole Fredrickson Tom Knott
Rick Creek
JH Boys Basketball Landon Wright Mitchell Shepherd
John Rueger
Ryan Smith
JH Girls Basketball Jamie Minneman Bryan Kracht
Anna Berger
JH Wrestling Cole Fredrickson Jesse Edwards
Rick Creek
Spring Sports
Baseball Derek Pretre Dillon Blake
Greg Stohs
Softball Bert Lord Ben Schaffer
Maggie Schotte
Golf Julio Franco
Tennis Mary Kessinger-Wassom OPEN if needed
Track Amy Renyer Dustin Heuer
JI Hornung
Don Butler
John Rueger
JH Track Landon Wright Scott Brown
Mark Antoine
Art Club April Spicer
Art Show April Spicer
Drama Carla Wofle
KAYS Julie Meinhardt
Linda Duever
MatMaids Angie Fredrickson
M-Club Mary Kessinger-Wassom
Dustin Heuer
Science Club Kim Houtz
National Honor Society Ali Busch
YOGOWYPI Mickie Crowther
STUCO Mitchell Shepherd
BLT Gina Bartels
Senior Class K’Lynne Degenhardt
Junior Class Carla Wolfe
Sophomore Class OPEN
Freshman Class Annelle Meals
Forensics/KSCFL Carla Wolfe
Webmaster Lynn Kracht
FFA Advisor Annelle Meals
FBLA Advisor Karen Hynek
FCCLA Advisor Gay Frazee
Instrumental Music Jamie Minneman
Flag Line Deserie Anaya-Olguin
Vocal Music Rachel Massoth
Quiz Bowl Mary Richardson
Linda Duever
Plays Carla Wolfe
Yearbook Karen Hynek



Previous articleMarshall County Senior Scholarship Show at Art Center
Next article2017 8-Man Division I All-Star Game Player Info
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.