McCormack Named 2022 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year


- Advertisement -

Courtesy of Kansas Athletics

IRVING, Texas – Kansas senior David McCormack is the 2022 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the conference announced Tuesday when it named its 2022 Winter Scholar-Athletes of the Year. McCormack joins KU senior Kate Steward who is the 2022 Big 12 Women’s Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The KU duo was selected in a vote of each sport head coaching group.

McCormack graduated from Kansas in three years with an undergraduate degree in communications studies. The Norfolk, Virginia, forward is studying digital content strategy in graduate school at Kansas with a 3.50 grade point average.

A starter on the 2022 NCAA National Championship team, McCormack averaged 10.6 points and 7.0 rebounds his senior campaign. He was named to the Final Four All-Tournament Team where he averaged 20.0 points and 9.5 rebounds in KU’s two wins versus Villanova and North Carolina. In the title contest against UNC, McCormack posted his 11th double-double of the season with 15 points and 10 rebounds.

A three-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team honoree, McCormack’s 11 double-doubles led the conference in 2021-22. His 7.0 rebounds ranked third in the Big 12 and he was eighth in free throw percentage at 75.6% and ninth in blocked shots per game (0.8). A 2022 All-Big 12 Third Team honoree, last season in 2020-21, McCormack led the Big 12 in field goal percentage at 51.5% and was the first recipient of the league’s Most Improved Player Award.

The Big 12 Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year began in the 2012-13 season. McCormack’s honor marks the third time a Kansas student-athlete has been selected as joins two-time recipient Perry Ellis who was named in 2015 and 2016.

- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nesterhttps://sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

KCC schedules public workshop for Evergy to explain dramatic increase in capital spending plan

TOPEKA – The Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) has scheduled a...

Cloud Co. Comm. College Music Department Presenting Fall Concert

Cloud County Community College’s Music Department will present its...

Twin Valley League Volleyball Report – Week 6 – 10/5/2022

Team League Overall Doniphan West 11-0 22-2 Hanover 11-0 23-5 Centralia 9-2 18-6 Washington County 8-3 18-10 Valley Heights 7-4 19-11 Linn 6-5 12-12 Onaga 5-6 11-12 Frankfort 5-6 17-11 Clifton-Clyde 4-5 15-13 Blue Valley 2-8 8-20 Axtell 2-9 5-23 Troy 1-11 4-16 Wetmore 0-12 0-29   Scores from October 4, 2022...

Kansas observes Energy Efficiency Day on October 5

TOPEKA – Wednesday, October 5 is Kansas Energy Efficiency Day....