Mitchell County Rural Water District #3 Scholarship Winners Announced


Ryan Broeckelman and Kara Eilert are named the recipients of the 2019 Mitchell County Rural Water District #3 scholarships. Each will receive an award of $750 in recognition of outstanding academic achievement and intention of gaining further education for a college degree.

Ryan is the son of Mike and Sharla Broeckelman of Beloit, and Kara is the daughter of Brad and Vickie Eilert of Beloit.

This is the third year the district has offered this scholarship. Applicants are limited to the children or stepchildren of patrons of the water district with an active meter.

Ryan is a Beloit High School graduate and plans to further his education at the NCK Technical College and obtain a degree in Welding. Kara is a St. John’s High School graduate and plans to further his education at Kansas State University and obtain a degree in Business Marketing.

Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

Beloit Elementary named National School of Character; McClure Elementary named State School of Character

TOPEKA — Two Kansas elementary schools are being recognized...

Arrest Made In Highway 150 Shooting In Chase County

CHASE COUNTY – The Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI)...

Homicide Investigation Underway In Coffeyville

MONTGOMERY COUNTY– The Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI), the...

15th Annual Pony Express Ride to Raise Awareness for Children’s Mental Health

Lincoln – Volunteer motorcyclists will ride across Nebraska from May...