Election Filings Made For Local Races

By Bruce Dierking – KNDY News

Monday was filing deadline for local elections. Marysville Mayor Carla Grund filed for reelection, as well as Jason Barnes who is currently on City Council, and former Mayor Bill Phillippi. For Marysville City Council, incumbents Gina Graham has filed for Ward 1, former councilman Keith Beikman will challenge incumbent Darlene Boss in Ward 2, incumbents Kevin Throm and Todd Frye have filed for Wards 3 and 4. Ken Kickhaefer filed for reelection as City Treasurer.

Filing for Axtell City Council are Alex Koch, Mark Wagner, and Richard Burger. Dan Schmitz filed for Mayor of Beattie, with Brad Armstrong and Rob Olmsted for council. Jerry Zayas has filed for Blue Rapids Mayor, with Jon Brake, Mike Minihan, and Doug Whitesell filing for council. Stephanie Hunninghake filed for Frankfort Mayor, and Travis Koch for council. Melvern Holle filed for Oketo Mayor, Bruce Mitchell for Summerfield Mayor, and Roger Gilbertson, Joy Renz Jr., Kyle Renz, and Mike Schneider for council. James Woolsoncroft filed for Vermillion City Council, Colby Hearn and Tony Mann for Waterville council.

School board filings include Marysville USD 364, Brenda Arntt and Catherine Ray for Position 1, Lanny Carpenter for Position 2, Melissa Borgerding and Susan Pacha for position 3, Michelle Reinhardt and Chris Ridey with position 7. USD 380 Vermillion filings include Jake Hull position 1, Royce Becker position 3, and Sara Smith position 7. USD 498 Valley Heights, Theresa Minihan position 1, Michael Vermetton position 2, John Walsh position 3, and David Vermetten position 7.

Previous articleRock Hills All-Stars Relish Final Opportunity
Next articleRoyals Select Three Players On First Day of MLB First-Year Player Draft
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids, and graduated from Valley Heights High School in May of 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications.After stops at KFRM and KCLY radio in Clay Center, he joined KNDY in 2002 as a board operator and play by play announcer. Derek is now responsible for the digital content of Dierking Communications, Inc. six radio stations.In 2005 Derek joined the staff of KCFX radio in Kansas City as a production coordinator for the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, which airs on over 94 radio stations across 12 Midwest states and growing. In 2018 he became the Studio Coordinator at the Cumulus Kansas City broadcast center for Kansas City Chiefs Football.