Osborne County Commissioners – April 24, 2017


- Advertisement -

Osborne County Commissioners

Minutes for April 24, 2017

Present: C.W. “Bill” Seaman, Alfred Reif, Craig Pottberg, and Vienna Janis, County Clerk.

Alfred Reif called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Brent “Bo” French met with commissioners and discussed the following: sealing asphalt county road 388 and that it could be done in three days, Jerry Cameron resigned his position, received the last load of steel, working roads, and purchasing a scraper off Big Iron.

Stephanie Baxa entered the meeting.

Tammy Kimminau and Team Members from the Board met with commissioners to discuss National Transportation Week. Tammy presented a proclamation and ask commissioners if they would sign it to celebrate the week of May 14 through 20, 2017 as transportation week. Alfred Reif moved to sign the Proclamation for National Transportation Week as May 14 through 20, 2017, C.W. Seaman second. Vote: all motion carried.

Commissioners read the minutes from April 17, 2017. Craig Pottberg moved to approve the minutes for April 17, 2017 as amended, Alfred Reif second. Vote: all motion carried.

Commissioners and Kenton Lyon discussed with Vienna Janis the transfer of her employee Cheryl Bontz to the Appraiser’s Office. C.W. Seaman moved to approve the transfer of Cheryl Bontz to the Appraiser’s Office effective May 1, 2017, Craig Pottberg second. Vote: all motion carried.

Kenton Lyon stated that he shared his new contract with Paul Gregory who looked it over and said it looked “ok.” Commissioners asked Kenton about putting in specific days into his contract so they would know when he would be scheduled to be here. Kenton stated that he plans to give commissioners a calendar of the days he will be in the office, in advance, each month.

Commissioners approved the following transfers: 17-23 for $1,500.00, 17-24 for $250.25, 17-25 for $7,821.31, 17-26 for $3,277.20, 17-27 for $140.00, and 17-28 for $7.00.

Pat Carlin met with commissioners to let them know that he is having problems with the fork lift that he bought. He is working on it and trying to get it running again.

Janice Boland met with commissioners to discuss pay raises. She asked to go into executive session. C.W. Seaman moved to go into executive session for ten minutes to discuss non-elected personnel with Janice Boland for ten minutes, Craig Pottberg second. Vote: all motion carried. Executive session started at 10:35 a.m. with commissioners and Janice Boland and ended at 10:45 a.m.

Alfred Reif moved to give Thomas Hawks a $1.00 raise and give Michelle Mathews a 50 cent raise effective today, C.W. Seaman second. Vote: all motion carried.

Commissioners approved the following change orders to the 2016 tax roll: 2016-173 and 2016-174.

Alfred Reif moved to adjourn the meeting with no other business, Craig Pottberg second. Vote: all motion carried. Meeting ended at 11:45 a.m.







- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nesterhttps://sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

KNDY’s Max Blaske on Axtell Football

KNDY Radio's Max Blaske previews Axtell vs. Thunder Ridge 

November 25th

A preview of the 8man state championship 

Homicide Investigation in Marshall County

MARSHALL COUNTY– The Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI) and...

Marshall County Commission Meeting Minutes – 11/21/2022

The Board of Marshall County Commissioners met in regular...