Washington Co. USD 108 Board of Education Meeting Minutes – 5/13/19


District Office Board Room Washington, Kansas
Monday, May 13, 2019 – 7:00 PM


Members Present
Joe L’Ecuyer, Brad Owen, Rod Stewart, Kevin Elliott, Jill Hoover, Rhonda Manley, Brad Jones

Administration Present
Denise O’Dea, Superintendent of Schools
Vicki Enyart, 7-12 Principal
Amy Hoover, K-6 Principal

Clerk Present
Amy Anderson, Clerk

Guests Present
News reporter, Michelle Bruna, Rebekah Helget

1.0 Roll Call/Pledge of Allegiance
The meeting of the Washington County USD #108 Board of Education was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by President Joe L’Ecuyer in the District Office Board Room in Washington, Kansas.

2.0 Approval of Agenda
Jill Hoover moved, seconded by Rhonda Manley to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 7-0.

3.0 Items for the Good of USD 108
A. Recognize Michelle Bruna – FBLA Local Advisor of the Year
President L’Ecuyer presented Mrs. Bruna with a certificate from the board.
B. JH/HS building report – Ms. Enyart
Ms. Enyart reported on JH/HS activities.
C. Elementary building report – Mrs. Hoover
Mrs. Hoover reported on elementary activities.

4.0 Audience with the Public

5.0 Consent Agenda
Jill Hoover moved, seconded by Kevin Elliott to remove item E from the consent agenda and to approve items A, B, C, D, F, G, and H. Motion carried 7-0. Items approved on the consent agenda were as follows:
A. Approval of minutes of the April 8, 2019 Board of Education meeting;
B. Review check register for and approve payment of April 2019 bills;
C. Approval of building activity fund reports for April 2019;
D. Review health insurance savings account reconciliation statement;
E. Approve supplemental contracts for the 2019-2020 school year as presented (addendum) – pulled for discussion;
F. Approve the hiring of Dan Ditmars, Transportation/Outside Maintenance director;
G. Approve the contract for Scott Romeiser, summer 2019 Driver’s Education instructor;
H. Approve the retirement resignation of Steve Graham, effective July 6, 2019.
6.0 Discussion of Items Pulled from Consent Agenda
E. Approve supplemental contracts for the 2019-2020 school year as presented (addendum) – pulled for discussion
Joe L’Ecuyer moved, seconded by Brad Jones to go into Executive Session with the board, superintendent and Principal Enyart to discuss supplemental contracts pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the board room at 7:25 p.m. Motion carried 7-0.
Joe L’Ecuyer moved, seconded by Rhonda Manley to approve the supplemental contracts as presented. Motion carried 7-0.

7.0 LCNCK Special Education Cooperative Presentation – Rebekah Helget, Director Mrs. Helget explained her priorities for the cooperative to meet the needs of the students while following legal parameters and what steps have been taken to achieve these goals.

8.0 2019-2020 Personnel Discussion
A. Additional staff at elementary
Ms. O’Dea recommended hiring a teacher aide to spend the majority of his/her time with the 2nd grade class and to help with MTSS groups. Joe L’Ecuyer moved, seconded by Rod Stewart to hire an additional teacher aide in the elementary. Motion carried 7-0.

9.0 Information from Supplemental Review Committee
A. Summary of meetings
Ms. O’Dea gave an overview of the recommendations the supplemental review committee presented to the negotiations team.
B. Approval of job descriptions
Brad Owen moved, seconded by Brad Jones to approve the supplemental job descriptions as presented. Motion carried 7-0.

10.0 Approval of all Handbooks for 2019-2020
A. Certified
B. Classified
C. Junior/Senior High School
D. Elementary School
E. Substitute Teaching
Rod Stewart moved, seconded by Jill Hoover to approve the handbooks as presented. Motion carried 7-0.

11.0 Adjourn Meeting
Brad Jones moved, seconded by Rhonda Manley to adjourn. Motion carried 7-0.

Amy Anderson, Clerk
Washington County Schools, U.S.D. #108

Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

[NCKS] KSHSAA Regional Golf-5/16/22

Area athletes are competing Monday, May 16 for a chance to qualify for next week's KSHSAA State Golf Meets.  Full info on Regional Golf can be found at the link below.

KSHSAA Regional Golf Assignments


KBI Investigating Reported Shooting along Highway 150 in Chase County

CHASE COUNTY – The Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI),...