73.7 F
Monday, June 21, 2021

KSDE Announces Local Governor’s Scholars Program Recipients

The Kansas State Department of Education has announced the 2021 Governor’s Scholars program recipients.

The Governor’s Scholars Program has been recognizing outstanding graduating seniors who finished in the top one percent of their high school graduating class for the past 38 years. Scholars are selected from accredited public and private schools in the state. This program is coordinated for the Governor by the Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force.

This year’s Governor’s Scholars recipients from the KD Country 94 listening area include:

  • Beloit High School Principal: Keighlee Armstrong
  • St. John’s High School: Lauryn Dubbert
  • Lakeside High School: Tanna Cunningham
  • Thunder Ridge: Mark Ferguson
  • Lincoln: Paige McBride
  • Rock Hills: Karrigan Dunstan
  • Osborne: Reagan Bales
  • Smith Center: Jarek Meyer
  • Tipton: Anna Towner
  • Sylvan-Lucas Unified: Jonah Huehl
  • Concordia: Terin Rundus
  • Pike Valley: Ethan Benne
Derek Nesterhttps://sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Related Articles

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

More Headlines