US Highway 36 Association Announces “Best Burgers” Contest Winners


The US Highway 36 Association is pleased to announce the winners of our “Best Burgers on 36” Contest. During the month of November voting was live on the Association’s Facebook page and Website. Each county located on Highway 36 in Kansas had its own poll which citizens and visitors could vote on. One winner was chosen from each of the counties creating the list of the 13 Best Burgers on 36. The winners received a certificate as well as will be recognized in the Association’s new Travel Guide which will come out in the Spring of 2021. The winners are:

  • Doniphan County: Kirkwood & Co, 401 W Main St, Highland, KS 66035 (785) 444-3663
  • Brown County: First Street Bar and Grill, 602 1st St, Hiawatha, KS 66434 (785) 742-3692
  • Nemaha County: Spanky’s Bar & Grill, 405 Main St, Seneca, KS 66538 (785) 336-6031
  • Marshall County: Little Haps, 211 2nd St, Home, KS 66438 (785) 799-9920
  • Washington County: Linn American Legion, 100 5th St, Linn, KS 66953 (785) 348-5370
  • Republic County: Pinky’s Bar & Grill, 428 Main St, Courtland, KS 66939 (785) 374-4200
  • Jewell County: Sweden Creme, 610 E South St, Mankato, KS 66956 (785) 378-8600
  • Smith County: Jiffy Burger, 815 US-36, Smith Center, KS 66967 (785) 282-6435
  • Phillips County: Third Street Bakery, 729 3rd St, Phillipsburg, KS 67661 (785) 543-6340
  • Norton County: 110 Bar & Grill, 110 S State St, Norton, KS 67654 (785) 874-4110
  • Decatur County: The Reload, 133 S Penn Ave, Oberlin, KS 67749 (785) 475-2421
  • Rawlins County: MOJO Espresso & Bistro, 113 S 4th St, Atwood, KS 67730 (785) 626-9011
  • Cheyenne County: Diamond R. Bar & Grill, 118 W Washington St, St Francis, KS 67756 (785) 332-3936
Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

KBI investigating officer-involved shooting in Saline County

SALINE COUNTY – The Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI)...

Local Business Owner Wins “We Kan” Award

By Jason Broadfoot Karla Fleming of Mankato and owner and...

Kansas Volleyball Association Announces 2022 All-Star Game Squads

May 26, 2022, Topeka, KS -- The Kansas Volleyball...