Central Valley Ag Awards 20 $1,000 Scholarships


Central Valley Ag (CVA) is pleased to announce winners of the 2022 CVA Scholarships. Twenty students pursuing a career in an agriculturally related field won awards of $1,000 each.

  1. Levi Schiller, Scribner NE
  2. Sadie Jarecke, Stuart NE
  3. Grant Schroeder, Le Mars IA
  4. Madison Hirschman, St. Paul NE
  5. Kaitlyn Pelster, Petersburg NE
  6. Faith Winkelmann, Seward NE
  7. Elizabeth Wilkins, Ainsworth NE
  8. Carly Schadd, Columbus NE
  9. Carter Ott, Aurora NE
  10. Reagan Stewart, Hunter KS
  11. Kale Nordmeyer, Seward NE
  12. Jaden Koehler, York NE
  13. Haiden Hild, Stromsburg NE
  14. Garrett Rasmussen, Albion NE
  15. Kylee Howard, O’Neill NE
  16. Kelsey Howard, O’Neill NE
  17. Madison Bruna, Barnes KS
  18. Branden Duhsmann, West Point NE
  19. Sam Philips, Akron IA
  20. Ryker Nelson, Minneapolis KS

The scholarship program is designed to promote academic excellence while providing an opportunity for students to learn more about the agricultural industry and the cooperative system through the process.

Students completed an online application and essay focused on explaining how the cooperative model is different than other business models when it comes to ownership and explain why the “One Member- One Vote” model is so important.

Scholarship eligibility was limited to students of CVA member-owners and CVA employees who are pursuing a career in agriculture.

“The scholarship recipients exemplify the heart and work ethic of the producers we are proud to work with every day,” said Carl Dickinson, CVA President/CEO. “CVA’s annual scholarship program is one of the many ways your cooperative supports future leaders, innovators, and spokespeople of agriculture.”

The 2022-2023 CVA Scholarship program will launch Fall 2022.

Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

[NCKS] KSHSAA Regional Track & Field

KSHSAA Regional Track & Field meets will be taking place on Thursday and Friday for area teams.  The links below have more information.  Reports on KD Country 94 and both days starting at 1:30.KSHSAA Regional Track &am...

Kansas prepares to distribute $69 million in federal small business economic aid

by Tim Carpenter, Kansas Reflector May 19, 2022 TOPEKA —...


[NCKS] Poore Named Athlete of the Week

Osborne Freshman Addison Poore has been named the Telephone and Cable Athlete of the Week.