Washington County Commission Meeting Minutes – May 15, 2017


- Advertisement -

The Board of Washington County Commission met in regular session on Monday May 15, 2017 in the commission room at the Washington County Courthouse. Members present: Tim Mueller, 1st District Commissioner, David Willbrant, 2nd District Commissioner, Gary Ouellette, 3rd District Commissioner and Diana Svanda, County Clerk to record minutes.

Consent Agenda items:
Thank You from WCCD
Complaint about mowing from Bonnie & Maurice Berggren
Commissioners have received the Washington County Senior Citizens Services, Minutes.
Svanda, County Clerk informed the commissioners that Thompson Reuters will be here June 8-10 to upgrade the County 400 system.

Justin Novak, Road & Bridge Supervisor – Tim Mueller made the notion to go into executive session for personnel issues for 15 minutes, including Justin Novak, David Willbrant seconded the motion, motion carried. After returning no action taken.
Justin reported that the county is looking for concrete rubble.

Diana Svanda, County Clerk asked Kathy Fritz, Deputy County Clerk to come in and talk to the commissioners about solid waste and how it is calculated.

Duane Bruna, Environmental Science Director and Ann Hawk County Treasurer discussed solid waste and how the county gets there money. David ask how often recycling was picked up, to which he was informed at least 2 times a week.
There will be a Recycling meeting on May 18, 2017 @ FNB meeting room at 6:00 PM.

Tiffany Hayman, County Health Director – reported that she has received a $7,200.00 Grant for updating their computer equipment, with a $2,000.00 match from the county. David Willbrant made the motion to transfer $45,000.00 from the county health multi use account, back to county health, Gary Ouellette seconded the motion, motion carried.

Randy Hubbard, Emergency Management – showed commissioners signs that he has received and has distributed to the schools. Randy also reported that the EMPG audit has been done for 2016 and has received the money for 2017, there was discussion on what was to be done with the money. There will be a CERT meeting Wednesday May 17, @ 7:00 PM at the Washington county fire house.

Chad Hiltgen, Blue Valley Telephone updated commissioners on fiber optical internet that is being put in place in the uptown parts of Washington City, he was ask to bring back cost of the fiber optical internet.

Gary Ouellette made the motion to adjourn at 12:07 PM, David Willbrant seconded the motion, motion carried.

Next regular meeting is May 22, 2017.

- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nesterhttps://sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio



Chiefs at Broncos December 11th Moved To 3:05 PM Kickoff

The Week 14 Miami Dolphins at Los Angeles Chargers...

Twin Valley League 8-Man All-League Honors Announced

8-MAN 1ST TEAM OFFENSE Skill - Issac Detwiler – Senior...