Area High Schools Qualify For State Scholars Bowl


- Advertisement -

Three area schools have qualified for State Scholars Bowl which takes place at several sites throughout the state on Saturday. Osborne, St. John’s and Beloit will all send teams to state competition.

Osborne will compete in 1A Division I at Satanta which is between Garden City and Liberal in Southwest Kansas. Their team members include Kaelan Cameron, Emma Carlin, Madilyn Staples, Chloe McKeon and Ashton Baxa. The Bulldogs placed second at regionals in LaCrosse on February 2. Their sponsor is Mr. Gilbert Rush.

St. John’s also finished second at their 1A Division II regional at Natoma and will compete at State in Ransom on Saturday with a team consisting of Drake Kee, Adam Bates, Rafael Ayala, Benjamin Walter, Davis Dubbert and Mason Eilert for the Blujays. Their sponsor is Mr. Rusty Lueger.

Beloit will compete in 3A State Scholar’s Bowl at Russell after finishing second to Syracuse at the TMP Regional in Hays. The Trojan’s squad consists of Seniors Jared Long, Alyssa Hougham and Tyler Long along with Sophomores Riley Gronewoller and Alexis Stout. Their sponsor is Cay Wildfong.

We will bring you state results on Monday’s newscast and hope to speak with some of the participants as well. Good Luck to Osborne, St. John’s and Beloit at state scholars bowl from KD-Country 94 and Z-96.3 The Lake.


- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nesterhttps://sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

Kansas Falls in Regular Season Finale at No. 12 K-State

Via Kansas Athletics MANHATTAN, Kan. — The Kansas Jayhawks dropped...

KNDY Rewind: Axtell Football vs. Thunder Ridge – 8-Man DII State Championship – 11/26/2022

KNDY Rewind: Axtell Football vs. Thunder Ridge - 8-Man...

Matt Rhule to Lead Nebraska Football Program

Via Nebraska Athletics Communications A proven program builder in college...

KNDY’s Max Blaske on Axtell Football

KNDY Radio's Max Blaske previews Axtell vs. Thunder Ridge