Marshall Named To House Ag Committee


- Advertisement -

Kansas 1st District Representative Roger Marshall, M.D., will serve as a member of the House Committee on Agriculture for the 115th United States Congress. He was selected on Tuesday.

The House Ag Committee will see important legislation in the 115th Congress, such as the formation of the next Farm Bill, which will impact crop insurance and ensure a safe, reliable, affordable food source. The Committee will also take up issues regarding trade in the coming year.

Kansas has maintained a seat on the House Ag Committee for a century, with the exception of the past 3 years, after former congressman Tim Huelskamp was removed from the committee by Republican leadership.

Huelkamp’s removal from the committee was likely a major factor leading to his 20 point loss to Marshall in last year’s Republican Primary.

Congressman Marshall was also selected to the Committee on Science and Technology.


- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio



Audit criticizes operation of Wichita Police Department’s property, evidence unit

By Kylie Cameron - Kansas News Service A 407-page audit...

Tractor Fire Reported Tuesday Near Leonardville

At 1:30 p.m. September 27, Riley County Fire District...