1A Division I & II Sub-State Basketball Tournament Brackets Released

Classes 1A Division I & Division II


Sub-state seeding will be on Saturday, February 18 at 10:00 a.m. Brackets will be posted on the KSHSAA website after they are verified.

  • Thursday, February 23 1A Div. I & II girls will play quarterfinal games at the higher seeded team.
  • Friday, February 24 1A Div. I & II boys will play quarterfinal games at the higher seeded team.
  • Thursday, March 2 1A Div. I & II girls will play semifinal games at the primary sub-state host site.
  • Friday, March 3 1A Div. I & II boys will play semifinal games at the primary sub-state host site.
  • Saturday, March 4 will be a girls championship game at 5:30 p.m. followed by a boys championship game at 7:00 p.m.

(February 23 – March 4)

Goessel HS – Brian Lightner, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Canton-Galva HS, Goessel HS, Lincoln HS, McPherson-Elyria Christian HS, Rural Vista (Hope/White City), Solomon HS, Sylvan-Lucas Unified

Kinsley HS – Corey Dunlap , Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Greensburg-Kiowa County HS, Jetmore-Hodgeman County HS, Kinsley HS, Minneola HS, Montezuma-South Gray HS, Satanta HS, Spearville HS

Little River HS – Erik Base, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Central Plains, Langdon-Fairfield HS, Little River HS, Macksville HS, Pratt-Skyline HS, Pretty Prairie HS, St. John-Hudson HS

Onaga HS – Adam Kufahl, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Burlingame HS, Centralia HS, Highland-Doniphan West HS, Lawrence-Bishop Seabury Academy, Marais Des Cygnes Valley , Onaga HS, Troy HS

Oswego HS – Chris Ball, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Colony-Crest HS, Madison/Hamilton, Moran-Marmaton Valley HS, Olpe HS, Oswego HS, Rosalia-Flinthills HS, Yates Center HS

Oxford HS – Kyle Green, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Burden-Central HS, Norwich HS, Oxford HS, Udall HS, Wichita-Central Christian Academy, Wichita-Classical School Of Wichita

Quinter HS – Eric Rucker, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
La Crosse HS, Ness City HS, Oberlin-Decatur Community HS, Quinter HS, St. Francis HS, Victoria HS

Washington County HS – Robert Smith, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Clyde-Clifton Clyde HS, Downs-Lakeside HS, Frankfort HS, Mankato-Rock Hills HS, Osborne HS, Randolph-Blue Valley HS, Washington County HS

(February 23 – March 4)

Axtell HS – Jayson Tynon, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Axtell HS, Hanover HS, Linn HS, Olathe-Kansas School For The Deaf, Scandia-Pike Valley HS, Wetmore HS

Burrton HS – Terry Bruton, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Burrton HS, Hutchinson-Central Christian HS, Junction City-St. Xavier HS, Lost Springs-Centre HS, Peabody-Burns HS, Southern Cloud (Miltonvale/Glasco), Wakefield HS

Deerfield HS – Juan Moreno, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Ashland HS, Bucklin HS, Deerfield HS, Ingalls HS, Moscow HS, Rolla HS

Grainfield-Wheatland/Grinnell HS – Will Bixenman, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Bird City-Cheylin HS, Brewster HS\Winona-Triplains HS, Dighton HS, Grainfield-Wheatland/Grinnell HS, Rexford-Golden Plains HS, Sharon Springs-Wallace County HS, Tribune-Greeley County HS

Kiowa-South Barber HS – Brent Shaffer, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Argonia HS, Attica HS, Caldwell HS, Coldwater-South Central HS, Cunningham HS, Kiowa-South Barber HS, South Haven HS

Ransom-Western Plains HS – Pat Flax, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Chase HS, Otis-Bison HS, Rozel-Pawnee Heights HS, Stafford HS, Wilson HS, WPH (Ransom-Western Plains & Healy)

Tescott HS – Daymon Walker, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Almena-Northern Valley HS, Beloit-St. John’s/Tipton, Kensington-Thunder Ridge HS, Logan HS\Palco HS, Natoma HS, Stockton HS, Tescott HS

Waverly HS – Mike Hevel, Manager [Boys] [Girls]
Buffalo-Altoona Midway HS, Chetopa HS, Hartford HS, Lebo HS, Leroy-Southern Coffey County HS, St. Paul HS, Waverly HS

Derek Nester
Derek Nesterhttp://www.sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2020 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.


― Advertisement ―


― Advertisement ―



― Advertisement ―

95.5 KNDY

1570/94.1 KNDY



Q 106.7 & 102.5 KQNK