USD 364 Marysville Board Of Education Meeting Highlights – 4/12/2017

- Advertisement -

Regular Board Meeting Highlights
April 12, 2017

  • Approved the agenda and consent agenda with the following additions: Motion carried 7-0.
  • 2.15 List of Supplemental Bills included in the Consent Agenda
    • And deletions of:
      • 7.2 Sound System Bids
      • 9.3 Scoreboard at Feldhausen Field
      • Approved March Minutes
      • Approved Bills and Transfers
      • Approved Supplemental Bills
      • Received Clerk’s Financial Report, Treasurer’s Report, Investment Securities Report and Miscellaneous Reports.
      • Approved Gifts:
        • Drama Club received $900.25 in donations from their play.
        • Wrestling Club received $100.00 from Pat and Jami Ellenbecker.
        • MES Music received $50.00 for 3rd & 4th grade Music DVD’s.
        • MES received an anonymous donation of $50.00 to the back snack program.
        • MES received $300.00 to the back snack program from the United Methodist Church.
        • MES received $100.00 from Women of the Moose Chapter 1442 for Computers or Library.
        • MHS Library received $100.00 from Women of the Moose Chapter 1442.
        • MES Theme Day received $1,000.00 from the R. L. & Elsa Helvering Trust ($250 per year for 4 years).
      • Appointed Cole Fredrickson as Driver’s Education instructor at the same wage as last year ($22.00 per hour).
      • Approved the Board continuing to participate with the Kansas Association of School Boards. Dues are $8,406.00 (same as last year) for membership and $1,650.00 (same as last year) for legal assistance.
      • Appointed Lanny Carpenter and Kevin Samuelson as the Board Negotiating Team with Sonya Stohs as the alternate.
      • Received Bond Issue Financial Update.
  • KSCFL-Forensics students who qualified for Nationals in Louisville, KY were recognized.
  • Approved a resolution of commendation to James Gordon (who could not attend) for winning first place in Oral Declamation at the State KSCFL Convention.
    Motion carried 7-0.
  • Approved the Forensics Students to attend Nationals in Louisville, KY in May. (The district will pay expenses for one sponsor, and $100 per student.) Motion carried 7-0.
  • FBLA Students who qualified for Nationals in Anaheim, CA were recognized.
  • Following presentations, approved resolutions of commendation to Holly Holthaus and Kayla Glore for winning first place in Social Media Campaign at the State FBLA Convention and to Sarah Roberts (who could not attend) and Alexandra Stoll for winning first place in Publication Design at the State FBLA Convention. Motion carried 7-0.
  • Approved the FBLA trip to Anaheim, CA for Nationals. (The district will pay expenses for a minimum of one sponsor, and $100 per student.) Motion carried 7-0.
  • Approved resolutions of commendation for the Boys’ Basketball Team (Jayton Haggard, Adam Lindhorst, Jaydon Ballman, Jack Blumer, Ethan Craig, Bryson Meinhardt, Gabe Pieschl, Tyler Rader, Nick Sparks, Brennan Wetter, Jacob Backus, Levi Nordhus) Managers (Raudy Latta, Layton Self) and coaches (Scott Brown, David Heyd, Marvin Schlatter) for winning first place in the 3-A State Boys Basketball Tournament. Motion carried 7-0.
  • Approved resolutions of commendations for Marysville High School Cheerleading Squad, Marysville High School Band, and Marysville High School Student Section for winning the Sportsmanship Award in the 3-A Boys Basketball Tournament. Motion carried 7-0.
  • Accepted the resignations of: Motion carried 7-0.
    • Shelby Cherny – Social Worker
    • Emily Lucas – Marysville Special Education
    • Kim Prockish – English Teacher
    • Jami Rose – Paraprofessional at MES effective April 13, 2017
  • Offered certified contracts to Josef Smith as Social Worker, and Elizabeth Stewart as Foreign Language Teacher. Motion carried 7-0.
  • Received written administrator reports from Jason Wheeler, Darren Schroeder, Doug Minneman, and Caroline Green.
  • Reviewed budget projections.
  • Approved the Bid of Thermal Comfort Air of Manhattan in the amount of $119,000.00 for replacement of the cooler and freezer compartments in the Marysville Junior/Senior High cafeteria. Motion carried 7-0.
  • Approved hiring 4 summer workers to help Brad Dressman and John Runnebaum at minimum wage and that second time workers be paid 30 cents more per hour. Motion carried 7-0.
  • Discussed Architect and Construction Updates.
  • Accepted the recommendation of the Oehm Scholarship Committee to award the $250 scholarship. The recipient will be announced on Senior Scholastic Award Night. Motion carried 7-0.
  • Approved adding four positions: Motion carried 7-0.
    • Additional Elementary Special Education Teacher
    • Additional Pre-K Teacher
    • Kansas Can Coordinator (Position being a cross between a Curriculum Coordinator, Administrator and Counselor. This person would take the lead on the new accreditation model-KESA, ACT Aspire, State Testing, Canvas, Kindergarten Readiness, Social Emotional Learning, Individual Plans of Study, Curriculum Alignment, and Professional Development.)
    • Speech Language Pathologist
  • Offered certified contracts to Jamie Anderson as a Pre-Kindergarten teacher, to Janine Doebele as a Special Education teacher at Marysville Elementary, to Cale Green as a Special Education teacher at Valley Heights, and offered a classified contract to Cale Green as a Paraprofessional at MES for the remainder of this school year. Motion carried 7-0.
  • Following discussion, consensus of the board was to have the contractors run conduit for the two scoreboard/videoboard in the Activity Center.

Meeting Adjourned at 8:05 P.M.

Previous articleBrownback Signs Off On $291M State Budget Band-aid
Next articleMarshall County Commission Meeting Minutes – April 10, 2017
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.