- Advertisement -

The National Weather Service has issued a TORNADO WATCH for the Nebraska portion of our listening area, including Jefferson, Gage and Pawnee Counties until 10:00 p.m. this evening.

A SEVERE THUNDERSTORM WATCH is in effect until 11:00 p.m. for our Kansas counties, including Marshall, Washington, Nemaha, Riley and Pottawatomie.

A WATCH means that conditions are favorable for the development of strong to severe thunderstorms, including tornadoes. Stay tuned to local media for any alerts that may be issued.

Previous articleKansas Approves Six Point Beer Sales In Grocery And Convenience Stores
Next articleBrownback Signs Off On $291M State Budget Band-aid
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.