Royals Agree To Terms With Nine Players on Contracts For 2020

- Advertisement -

KANSAS CITY, MO (February 17, 2020) – The Kansas City Royals announced today that the club has agreed to terms on 2020 Major League contracts with pitchers Scott Blewett, Carlos Hernandez, Tim Hill, Jakob Junis, Glenn Sparkman and Kyle Zimmer; infielder Adalberto Mondesi, infielder/outfielder Hunter Dozier and outfielder Bubba Starling. Consistent with club policy, terms of the contracts were not disclosed.

Of the players signed today, seven of them – Dozier, Hill, Junis, Mondesi, Sparkman, Starling and Zimmer – have Major League service time.

The Royals have eight players who remain unsigned for the 2020 season.

Kansas City Royals Baseball can be heard all season long on Classic Hits 106.7 FM & 1530 AM KQNK in Northwest Kansas & Southwest Nebraska. 

Previous articleKNDY Replay: Axtell at Washington County High School Basketball – 2-14-2020
Next articleChances Are Your Kansas County’s Website Is Easy Pickings For Hackers
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.