National Sorghum Producers Announce 2019 Yield Contest Winners


LUBBOCK, Texas (Dec. 17, 2019) – National Sorghum Producers is proud to announce the winners of the 2019 NSP Yield Contest. Producer yields are highlighted in five different categories from the eastern and western regions of the U.S. This year’s top yield and Bin Buster winner is Santino Santini of New Jersey with 212.5 bushels per acre.

“Our growers rallied through some of the most strenuous conditions to complete a harvest this season, and we were very pleased with the overall crop,” said NSP board Chairman Dan Atkisson, a sorghum farmer from Stockton, Kansas, “Yield achievements in sorghum are reflected not only through the national average trend yield but also through this year’s contest yields. Congratulations to all of our winners.”

The 2019 first place winners of the NSP Yield Contest were Kimberly Gamble of Kansas in the Irrigated-Tillage West category with a yield of 204.5 bushels per acre; Sanduff Farms of New Jersey in the Irrigated-Tillage East category with a yield of 199.6 bushels per acre; Nathan Miller of Oklahoma in the Irrigated-No Till West category with a yield of 160.2 bushels per acre; River Hollow Farms of New Jersey in the Irrigated-No Till East category with a yield of 206.1 bushels per acre; Ronald Glissendorf of South Dakota in the Dryland-Tillage West category with a yield of 172 bushels per acre; Santino Santini of New Jersey in the Dryland-Tillage East category with a yield of 212.5 bushels per acre; Ki Gamble of Kansas in the Dryland-No Till West category with a yield of 194.9 bushels per acre; Chris Santini of New Jersey in the Dryland-No Till East category with a yield of 206.8 bushels per acre; and Matthew Bloss of Nebraska won the Food-Grade category with a yield of 107.7 bushels per acre.

The national winners and new Hall of Fame member, Winter Johnston of Pennsylvania, will be further recognized at Commodity Classic in San Antonio, Texas, on February 28, 2020, at an awards dinner sponsored by Corteva.

To see a complete list of the NSP Yield Contest national, state and county results, or to learn more about the contest, visit

Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

Norton County Community Foundation Announces Match Day 2022 Participants

Norton, Kansas, May 2022 – Norton County Community Foundation...

Marshall County Commission Meeting Minutes – 5/16/2022

The Board of Marshall County Commissioners met in regular...

Governor Laura Kelly Proclaims May 21-27 as Safe Boating Week

PRATT – Kansas reservoirs are a treasured outdoor resource...