Bill Self Named Kansan of the Year By The Kansas Society of Washington, D.C.


Courtesy of Kansas Athletics

WASHINGTON, D.C. – KU men’s basketball head coach Bill Self was named the 2019 Kansan of the Year by the Kansas Society of Washington, D.C, at its annual banquet Wednesday evening at the Westin Washington, D.C., City Center.

Self, his wife Cindy, KU athletics director Jeff Long, other athletic department staff and University of Kansas officials made the trip to Washington to be part of the festivities along with Kansas’ government representatives.

Inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2017, Self is the second winningest coach in Kansas men’s basketball history with a 473-106 record in 16 seasons at KU. Overall, Self is 680-211 in 26 seasons of coaching. In his 16 seasons at Kansas, Self has won 14 Big 12 regular-season titles, eight Big 12 Tournaments, advanced to the Final Four three times and guided the Jayhawks to the 2008 national championship. A four-time national coach of the year and nine-time conference coach of the year, Self’s 14 Big 12 titles from 2005-2018 set an NCAA record for consecutive league regular season championships.

Self joins a who’s who of Kansan of the Year recipients, recently including:

  • 2007 – Bill Snyder
  • 2008 – David B. Dillon
  • 2009 – Robert Hemenway and Jon Wefald
  • 2010 – Honorable Sam Brownback, Honorable Dennis Moore
  • 2011 – Eric Stonestreet
  • 2012 – Jordy Nelson
  • 2013 – Honorable Jim Ryun
  • 2014 – Rob Riggle
  • 2015 – Mark Turgeon
  • 2016 – Adam LaRoche
  • 2017 – Bernadette Gray-Little
  • 2018 – Honorable Lynn Jenkins
  • 2019 – Bill Self
Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

Amber Alert – Brixton Sisk – UPDATE: Located Safe

Amber Alert Notice ----------- Update:The suspects have been arrested and...

[NCKS] KSHSAA Regional Track & Field

KSHSAA Regional Track & Field meets will be taking place on Thursday and Friday for area teams.  The links below have more information.  Reports on KD Country 94 and both days starting at 1:30.KSHSAA Regional Track &am...

Kansas prepares to distribute $69 million in federal small business economic aid

by Tim Carpenter, Kansas Reflector May 19, 2022 TOPEKA —...