Nine Candidates File For Open Marshall Co. Commissioner Slot

Nine candidates have filed for consideration as 3rd District Marshall County Commissioner, to fill the unexpired term of Lynn Feldhausen, who passed away last month. A selection meeting will choose a replacement for the term ending 2020 at a meeting in Beattie Thursday evening at 7 p.m. A precinct committee man and woman from each of 26 precincts in the 3rd District will make the decision, which will be forwarded to the state republican party, then on to the governor for appointment.

Since all precinct positions were vacant, registered republicans have been solicited. A few vacant positions remain, and anyone qualified and interested is urged to contact Marshall County Republican Chair Bill Phillipi in Marysville at 785-562-5467 before noon Wednesday.

Candidates to be considered for 3rd District Commissioner are George Bernasek and Thomas Rottinghaus of Axtell, Melissa Sandman and Ronald Schneider of Beattie, Kenneth Feldhausen, Mary Ann Fincham, Daniel L Howell, and Richard Hull of Frankfort, and Keith Bramhall of Vermillion. The meeting Thursday evening at 7 at Beattie is open to the public, however only registered, republican, precinct committee members will be allowed to question the candidates.