Nemaha County Commission Meeting Minutes – 12/26/18


These minutes are unofficial until approved by the Board of Commissioners at their next meeting.

December 26, 2018 Unofficial

The Board of Nemaha County Commissioners met in regular session on Wednesday, December 26, 2018 in the Commissioner’s Room of the Nemaha County Courthouse. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Dennis Henry leading the flag salute. Present also were Commissioners Gary Scoby and Tim Burdiek, Road and Bridge/Solid Waste Supervisor Dennis Ronnebaum and Office Clerk Kristina Talkington, and County Clerk Mary Kay Schultejans recording the minutes.

Road and Bridge/Solid Waste Report:

Road and Bridge/Solid Waste Supervisor Dennis Ronnebaum advised the board that:
• he would like to hire Michael Love as a patrol operator in the Road and Bridge Department. Dennis introduced Michael to Commissioners. Michael will begin work for the county today at a starting pay of $14.76 per hour.
• he will still need to hire another patrol operator at some time in the future.

Commissioners agreed to also replace the north door of the west entrance of the courthouse as well at an additional estimated cost of $1,500 through Jim Hill’s Paint, Glass, and Hardware.

Tim Burdiek moved to approve the appointment of Sam Hutfles as the Marion Township Trustee upon the recommendation of the other Marion Township Officials. Gary Scoby seconded the motion. The motion carried with all voting aye. Commissioners signed the appointment letter as presented.

Gary Scoby moved to appoint Brad Lippert to the NEK-CAP Board of Directors for 2019. Tim Burdiek seconded the motion. The motion carried with all voting aye. Commissioners signed the appointment letter as presented.

The board reviewed the minutes from the December 17, 2018 meeting. Gary Scoby moved to approve the minutes as presented. Dennis Henry seconded the motion. The motion carried with Gary Scoby and Dennis Henry voting aye. Tim Burdiek abstained from the vote due to his absence from part of the December 17th meeting.

Chairman Dennis Henry signed add/abate orders as presented.

County Attorney Brad Lippert came before the board. Commissioners spoke to Brad about changes they would like to make to the Nemaha County Employee Handbook for 2019.

Commissioners reviewed a first draft of the Nemaha County 2019 Reorganization suggesting further changes to be made to the document before it is approved.

With no further county business coming before the board, Chairman Dennis Henry adjourned the meeting at 12:55 pm. The next regularly scheduled meeting will be held on Monday, December 31, 2018 at 9:00 am.

Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

KBI investigating officer-involved shooting in Saline County

SALINE COUNTY – The Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI)...

Local Business Owner Wins “We Kan” Award

By Jason Broadfoot Karla Fleming of Mankato and owner and...

Kansas Volleyball Association Announces 2022 All-Star Game Squads

May 26, 2022, Topeka, KS -- The Kansas Volleyball...