Central Valley Ag holds annual meeting


Central Valley Ag Cooperative (CVA) recently hosted their Annual Meeting at the Holthus Convention Center in York, Nebraska on November 19, 2018, for member-owners to review the fiscal year. CVA reported $28 Million in Total Profit for their fiscal year 2018, ending on August 31, 2018.

“Despite the challenges of the current agriculture market, we are pleased to report substantial and significant savings, with $16.8 million of those savings being earned from local savings,” said Carl Dickinson, CEO/President of Central Valley Ag. “These results could not have been obtained without an outstanding group of employees and the support of our member-owners. We are very proud of the team we have assembled to serve the customer.”

This year, CVA will disperse $12.0 Million in patronage to member-owners with 33% paid in cash and the remaining balance in Non-Qualified Equity. Based on the results of the 2018 fiscal year, $4.0 Million will be paid out in cash. The balance of the patronage ($8.0 million) will be distributed in the form of non-qualified patronage. Not only is the cash received as a benefit for member-owners; $29.9 Million was reinvested in assets to improve speed, space, and efficiency in 2018.

At the meeting, CVA also announced the newly elected members of their Board of Directors. CVA relies on its Board of Directors to position CVA for future success and profitability for member-owners. Leading up to the meeting the Board of Directors voted in favor of reformatting the size of the Board.

Now, Central Valley Ag will be working under the direction of an 18-member board with two associate board members. CVA’s Board of Directors is made up of local, agricultural producers who are recognized for their industry expertise, as well as economic and community development skills. CVA member-owners elected the following individuals to represent their voice on the board:

  • Dave Beckman (Elgin, NE) and Alex Brookhouser (Brunswick, NE) – Region 1
  • Duane Schumacker (Bloomfield, NE) and Kurt Thoene (Hartington, NE) – Region 2
  • Paul Jarecke (Clarks, NE) and Pat Wemhoff (Humphrey, NE) – Region 3
  • Jay Uehling (Oakland, NE) and Robert Chatt (Tekamah, NE) – Region 4
  • Luke Carlson (York, NE) and Randy Johnson (Osceola, NE) – Region 5
  • Larry Naber (Utica, NE) and Tom Vodicka (Surprise, NE) – Region 6
  • Mark Philips (Akron, IA) and Adam Schroeder (Le Mars, IA) – Region 8
  • Ron Benson (Clay Center, KS), Mark Koss (Haddam, KS), Raymond Larson (Green, KS) and Jacob Porter (Mankato, KS) – Region 7 & 9
  • Gordan Luebbe (Utica, NE) and Carmen Schlickbernd (West Point, NE) – 2 associate board members

“It is our goal to focus on our customers and what their operation needs are. We want to focus on their experience and the relationships we have with them and if we emphasize on those key parts to deliver value to their operations, we will achieve success,” said Dave Beckman, CVA Board Chairman.

“Our Board of Directors play a visionary role in helping us achieve this success. I want to thank our departing board of director members: Andrew Klug, John Moore, Doug Moon, Eric Eilert, Luke Shamburg, Jeff Berggren, Neal Bracht, Ryan Crumly, Tim Johnson, and Tim Porter for their service and dedication to CVA over the years.”

Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

[NCKS] KSHSAA State Golf

The 2022 KSHSAA State Golf Championships are scheduled for Monday and Tuesday, May 23 and 24.  All Grass Greens meets from 6A-1A will play a two-day, 36-hole tournament to decide a champion.  For Sand Greens, the State Meet takes place at Dow...

KBI investigating officer-involved shooting in Junction City

GEARY COUNTY - The Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI)...

Norton County Community Foundation Announces Match Day 2022 Participants

Norton, Kansas, May 2022 – Norton County Community Foundation...