2019 health insurance enrollment has changes


- Advertisement -

Consumer alert:

2019 health insurance enrollment has changes


Topeka, KS — With the 2019 health insurance open enrollment period just beginning, Ken Selzer, CPA, Kansas Commissioner of Insurance, reminds those seeking plans for next year that three important changes are taking place.

There will be no penalty for not having minimum essential coverage. Before, consumers would pay a penalty if they were not enrolled in a health plan. Beginning Jan. 1, 2019, that tax penalty will be reduced to nothing. If consumers don’t have major medical health insurance for the 2019 coverage year, they will be on their own for major health care costs, but they won’t be penalized at tax time.

Short-term, limited duration options may offer lower premiums, but they won’t cover as much. Short-term, limited duration insurance is not available through the federally-facilitated Kansas marketplace, but Kansans may see it offered elsewhere. These short-term plans allow for coverage to fill temporary coverage gaps.

“While they’re typically cheaper than the marketplace and other individual market health plans, there are usually limited benefits, broader exclusions and higher levels of consumer cost-sharing,” Commissioner Selzer said. “Before signing up for a short-term plan, it’s important to think through what health care services you and your family may need and check whether those services are covered.”

There will be more direct enrollment options. This means you might sign up for a marketplace plan even without visiting HealthCare.gov. You might use an insurer’s website or a third-party website.

“These sites might offer you other types of coverage too, so look closely to know what you’re buying,” Commissioner Selzer said. “Remember, you can always go online to HealthCare.gov if you want to be sure to get the protections offered in the marketplace plans.”

More Information

If you have questions about the health insurance marketplace in Kansas, contact the Consumer Assistance Division at the Kansas Insurance Department by calling 800-432-2484 or by using the chat feature on the department’s website, www.ksinsurance.org.

The open enrollment period for health insurance runs from Nov. 1, 2018 to Dec. 15, 2018.  Those who purchase 2019 coverage during that time period will have coverage beginning Jan. 1, 2019.

- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nesterhttps://sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2020 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

Post Rock Community Foundation Could Earn 200% Match In February

The Post Rock Community Foundation (PRCF) could earn additional...

KBI Investigating A Suspicious Death in Wamego

POTTAWATOMIE COUNTY – The Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI),...



Seven Kansas Non-profits Awarded Big Game Permits for Fundraising

PRATT – Seven lucky conservation organizations are set to receive...