Kansas Coaches Association Announces 2017-18 Coaches of the Year

The Kansas Coaches Association today announced the 2017-2018 winners for their “Coach of the Year” awards.

Cross Country – BoysLevi HusemanOlathe North High School
Cross Country – GirlsRena MickBennington High School
Football – 11 manGarrett MichaelSabetha High School
Football – 8 manDon MelbyPike Valley High School
Golf – GirlsIrv SchuellerAndale High School/Garden Plain High School
Soccer – BoysJason PendletonBlue Valley Southwest High School
Tennis – GirlsJanet GlaserAndover Central High School
VolleyballKimbrook TennalCentralia High School
Basketball – BoysLonnie LollarHalstead High School
Basketball – GirlsChris StrathmanMcPherson High School
BowlingJodi FloydWichita Northwest High School
Swimming – BoysKyle FarringtonBlue Valley Northwest High School
WrestlingDerick BudkeChase County Jr/Sr High School
BaseballTony ScardinoBlue Valley High School
Golf – BoysEric MuningerSacred Heart High School
Soccer – GirlsNate HuppeBishop Miege High School
SoftballRita FrakesAndover Central High School
Swimming – GirlsChris EricksonKapaun Mount Carmel High School
Tennis – BoysDean D. SchulzValley Center
Track & Field – BoysKory CoolManhattan High School
Track & Field – GirlsGreg SmarshAndale High School
Middle School-BoysMike BaumannPike Valley Junior High School
Middle School-GirlsKarla K. VirandaMeadow View Grade School
Previous article
Next articleKansas High School Classifications Set For 2018-2019 Season
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids, and graduated from Valley Heights High School in May of 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications.After stops at KFRM and KCLY radio in Clay Center, he joined KNDY in 2002 as a board operator and play by play announcer. Derek is now responsible for the digital content of Dierking Communications, Inc. six radio stations.In 2005 Derek joined the staff of KCFX radio in Kansas City as a production coordinator for the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, which airs on over 94 radio stations across 12 Midwest states and growing. In 2018 he became the Studio Coordinator at the Cumulus Kansas City broadcast center for Kansas City Chiefs Football.