63.2 F
Tuesday, September 21, 2021

Kevin Thomas, Jr. Wins Chad McDaniel Memorial Race

The 9th Annual Chad McDaniel Memorial Race was held on Wednesday night at Solomon Valley Raceway in Beloit.  27 drivers took the track, making their way through heat races, the semi-feature and finally the 30-lap feature race.  Ultimately, it was Kevin Thomas, Jr. that came away with the victory.

It was his second win on the season in the P1 Insurance National Midget Championship.  Thomas came into the night in 6th place in the driver standings for the series. Thomas also won the Chad McDaniel Memorial Race in 2015, which was the last time he ran at Beloit.

Points leader Logan Seavey finished 2nd place, followed by Justin Grant, Jason McDougal and Tanner Carrick.  One other interesting note from the night, in qualifying, 11 drivers came in under the old track record for the ¼ mile dirt track at Solomon Valley Raceway.

A full recap of Wednesday night’s race can be found here.

Derek Nesterhttps://sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

More Headlines