Central Valley Ag announces annual scholarship winners


- Advertisement -

Central Valley Ag (CVA) has announced their awards to 20 students with a $1,000 CVA scholarship. CVA takes pride in supporting students with the determination to advance into the agricultural industry.

Receiving a CVA Member-Owner scholarship of $1,000, this year’s local area scholarship recipients include:

-Lane Tomasek of Wisner, Neb.
Logan Batchman of Sylvan Grove, Kansas
-Elizabeth Yrkoski of Fullerton, Neb.
-Madison Baker of Stromsburg, Neb.
-Kinzey Cott of Clay Center, Kansas
-Alice McDonald of Phillips, Neb.
-Taralyn Baum of Elgin, Neb.
-Jason Rainforth of Scribner, Neb.
-Jacob Sprunk of Columbus, Neb.
-Reece McFarland of Bloomfield, Neb.
-Austin Knapp of Ord, Neb.
-Dustin Ternus of Madison, Neb.
Trenton Brummer of Tipton, Kansas
-Elias Girard of Concordia, Kansas
-Madison Kovarna of Merrill, Iowa
-Colton Smith of Craig, Neb.

Receiving a CVA Employee Student scholarship of $1,000, this year’s scholarship recipients include:
-Kelli Lange of Clifton, Kansas
-Evan Reinert of Uehling, Neb.
-Ryan McBride of Wisner, Neb.
Brenton Edwards of Concordia, Kansas

The scholarship program is designed to promote academic excellence and focus on students who have been involved in agriculturally related activities throughout their youth experience. CVA Scholarship applicants wrote an essay titled “Agriculture: The Cooperative Difference,” elaborating on the role of the cooperative business model in today’s agriculture industry, why it’s important and how it can continue to benefit farmer member-owners.

“The scholarship recipients exemplify the heart and work ethic of the producers we are proud to work with every day,” said Carl Dickinson, CEO of Central Valley Ag. CVA’s annual scholarship program is one of the many ways cooperatives support future leaders, innovators, and spokespeople of agriculture.

Students of CVA member-owners and CVA employees pursuing post-secondary education in an agriculturally related field were eligible to apply. The next CVA Scholarship program for next year will launch in December.

- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nesterhttps://sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

NCKL All-League Football Teams Announced

Offensive Line All-League Keegun Beims Jr. Concordia Andrew Hildenbrand Sr. Wamego Luke Young ...

Kansas Battles Nebraska in Second Round of NCAA Tournament

LINCOLN, Neb. – For the second straight season, Kansas...

Medical Lab Tech students place second in national competition

Lincoln, NE (Nov. 30, 2022) - Southeast Community College’s Medical Laboratory...

Pulmonary rehabilitation: Bringing greater quality of life to patients with lung disease

NORTON, Kan. – Breath is life. So, if you’re...