Osborne County Commissioners – December 28, 2017


- Advertisement -

Osborne County Commissioners Minutes for December 28, 2017

Present: Craig Pottberg, Alfred Reif, C.W. “Bill” Seaman, and Vienna Janis, County Clerk.

Alfred Reif called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.

Commissioners read the minutes for meeting on December 18, 2017. Craig Pottberg moved to approve the minutes as amended for December 18, 2017, C.W. Seaman second. Vote: all motion carried.

Commissioners looked over the invoice for Osborne E-Waste. C.W. Seaman moved to pay the Osborne E-Waste dues for $1,000.00 for 2018, Craig Pottberg second. Vote: all motion carried.

Commissioners signed and approved checks and vouchers totaling $328,101.66:

General                                   $159,397.61

Road & Bridge                         71,236.32

Health                                     9,872.93

Appraiser’s Cost                      4,108.91

Election                                   757.56

Mental Health                         13.19

Mental Retardation                5.37

Noxious Weed                         6,546.15

Ambulance                              32,957.35

Waste Disposal                       16,798.53

Osborne Co. Hist. Museum     2,000.00

OFD #1 General                      812.97

OFD #2 General                      5,037.15

OFD #3 General                      134.06

Payroll clearing                       5,334.57

Local E-911 Fund                     1,705.85

Special R&B Improve              4,426.40

Osborne Co E-Waste               116.64

Motor Vehicle Operating        6,840.10

Total                $328,101.66


Craig Pottberg called Sherry Koster regarding the issue of dumping waste. Craig explained to Sherry Koster that the Sheriff’s office had issuing a warning ticket to the person who dumped the waste.

Commissioners approved the following change orders to the 2017 tax roll: 2017-40, 2017-41, 2017-42, 2017-43, 2017-44, 2017-45, 2017-46, 2017-47, 2017-48, 2017-49, 2017-50, 2017-51, 2017-52, 2017-53, 2017-54, 2017-55, 2017-56, and 2017-57.

Alfred Reif called the public hearing open for comment to amending the 2017 budget for Osborne County. The following departments were amended for 2017: Road & Bridge, Mental Health, Mental Retardation, Wireless E-911, Fire District #2, and Kill Creek Township. Craig Pottberg moved to approve the amended budget amounts for 2017 as published, C.W. Seaman second. Vote: all motion carried.

The bond closing was presented for approval and signatures. The following were present: commissioners, BobbiJo Boxum, Paul Gregory, and Marianna Harris. Discussion was held on investments. C.W. Seaman moved to approve the Investment letter for General Obligation Temporary Note, Craig Pottberg second. Vote: all motion carried.

Chris Rhodes met with commissioners to discuss doing the programming for all county department such as payroll, tax, accounts payable, real estate, and imaging documents. He stated he could do the programming in house but didn’t feel there was enough time.

Commissioners approved the following transfers: 17-104 for $500.87,17-105 for $10,000.00, 17-106 for 1,170.34, 17-107 for $10,000.00, 17-108 for 20,000.00, 17-109 for $200.00, 17-110 for $2,500.00, 17-111 for $138.88, 17-112 for $5,349.76, 17-113 for $10,000.00, 17-114 for $561.81,17-115 for $266,759.85, 17-120 for $266,759.85, 17-121 for $1,392.83, 17-122 for $5,036.68, 17-123 for 3,842.12, 17-124 for $1,395.25, 17-125 for 2,458.83, 17-126 for $26,000.00, 17-127 for $8,581.74, 17-128 for $6,227.79, 17-129 for $4,211.34, 17-130 for $81,745.49, 17-131 for $21,000.00, and 17-132 for $9,000.00.

Craig Pottberg moved to adjourn the meeting with no other business, C.W. Seaman second. Vote: all motion carried. Meeting ended at 11:45 a.m.

- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

Jayhawks Move to 5-0 With Dramatic Win Over Cyclones

Via Kansas Athletics LAWRENCE, Kan. – Behind second-quarter touchdowns from...

Fourth Quarter Surge Pushes Wildcats Over Raiders

Via K-State Athletics MANHATTAN, Kan. - Adrian Martinez earlier in...

KNDY Area High School Football Scores – 9/30/2022

NORTH CENTRAL KANSAS LEAGUE Concordia 38, Hiawatha 12 Rock Creek 56,...

Marshall County Commission Meeting Minutes – 9/26/2022

The Board of Marshall County Commissioners met in regular...