29.9 F
Monday, December 6, 2021

Osborne County Commissioners – November 13, 2017

Osborne County Commissioners – November 13, 2017

Present: Alfred Reif, C.W. “Bill” Seaman, Craig Pottberg, and Vienna Janis, County Clerk.

Others present: Gary Doane, and Evan Joy.

Alfred Reif called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

The board of canvassers met to certify the votes cast in 2017 City/School General Election. Vienna Janis, Election Officer presented provisional ballots to the board for them to determine if they should be counted. There were 31 provisional ballots and the board of canvassers counted 25 ballots. The provisional numbers were added to the advance and Election Day total. There was a tie in City of Alton for Council position with Shawn Conway and Trevor Oliver receiving 14 votes a piece. Both were present for the coin toss to break the tie. Shawn Conway won the coin toss.   The following each received 2 write-ins for USD #392 Dist. 1 Pos. 4 Jerry Lynn Cameron, Allen Herman, Rebecca McNeal, and Julie Winkel.   Three of the four were present and a tie was broken by drawing a name out of a hat, with Jerry Lynn Cameron name being drawn out.

C.W. Seaman moved to approve the vote cast and accept and certify the votes for 2017 City/School General Election held on November 7, 2017, Alfred Reif second. Vote: all motion carried.

Commissioners signed and approved checks and vouchers totaling $75,938.12:

General                                   $15,821.90

Road & Bridge                         12,840.34

Health                                     5,397.74

Appraiser Cost                         1,332.79

Election                                   3,912.61

Mental Health                         1,824.79

Mental Retardation                4,197.80

Noxious Weed                         165.09

Ambulance                              3,209.14

Waste Disposal                       2,124.49

OFD #1 General                      645.72

OFD #2 General                      123.72

OFD #3 Grant                          23,075.00

Payroll Clearing                      384.24

Local E-911 Fund                     883.75

Total                $75,938.12

Commissioners approved transfer 17-88 for $75.00.

Johnnie Adam met with commissioners regarding roof project and it being completed.

Larry Kendig met commissioners to discuss the new hospital that will be built. He stated that he is concerned with how the county will make the payments. He wanted to know who would oversee the day to day project. He had concerns about his taxes. Larry Kendig suggested that the project be scaled back to make it more affordable. Discussion was held.

Commissioners recessed the meeting at 12:30 p.m. and reconvened at 1:00 p.m.

Commissioners read the minutes for meeting held on November 6, 2017. C.W. Seaman moved to approve the minutes as presented, Alfred Reif second. Vote: all motion carried.

Commissioners read the minutes for special meeting on November 8, 2017. C.W. Seaman moved to approve the minutes for special meeting held November 8, 2017 as presented, Craig Pottberg second. Vote: all motion carried.

Marianna Harris, John Girard, Linda Murphy, Janell Burch from the hospital met with commissioners. Paul Gregory was also present. Documents were presented from the bond company that needed to be approved. Discussion was held. Commissioners put in a call to Dustin Avey-Bond Counsel for questions. Payments will be made to the bank from the county to pay for bonds. Alfred Reif moved to approve resolution 2017-08 authorizing the offering for sale of general obligation bonds, Series 2017, and General Obligation Temporary Notes, Series 2017, of Osborne County, Craig Pottberg second. Vote: all motion carried.

Vienna Janis discussed commissioners meeting schedule. Alfred Reif moved to meet on November 30, 2017 and not meet on November 27, 2017, Craig Pottberg second. Vote: all motion carried.

Paul Gregory did write a statement for JoAnn Hashenberger to sign. Commissioners reviewed it. Craig Pottberg moved to approve pay JoAnn Hashenberger $1,949.69 for time she put on leave and approve the receipt, waiver and release of claims, Alfred Reif second. Vote: All motion carried.

JoAnn Hashenberger met with commissioners and review the release of claims statement. JoAnn Hashenberger and commissioners signed the statement and Vienna Janis attested.

Alfred Reif moved to adjourn the meeting with no other business, Craig Pottberg second. Vote: all motion carried. Meeting ended at 2:45 p.m.

Derek Nesterhttps://sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

More Headlines