Norton Co Board Of Commissioners November 13, 2017


- Advertisement -

Norton Co Board of Commissioners
November 13, 2017

Commissioner Charles Posson called the meeting of the Norton Co Board of Commissioners to order at 9:00 AM on November 13, 2017 at the Commission Room. Attendance: Richard Thompson, Present: Charles Posson, Present: Thomas Brannan, Present.

Commission Minutes
A motion was made by Commissioner Brannan to approve the commission minutes from November 6th, 2017 with a second from Commissioner Thompson. Motion passed 3-0.

Solid Waste
Brian Smith, Norton County Solid Waste was in to report the collection of concrete product that has been deposited in the landfill since 2013. The estimate was needed to make a decision on the hiring of a firm to do the crushing of the product. The county collection figures are considerably less that the contractors figures. After discussion the commission made a decision to proceed with terms of crushing but will require a contract prior to proceeding with the job.

Canvass of Ballots
The Norton County Commission served as the canvassing board for the November 7th, 2017 election. The provisional ballots were reviewed for counting and tabulating. Totals were recorded and entered into the book for canvassing board signature.

USD #212, District #1, Position #4 after the canvass had a three way tie. The commission will have a tie breaker next Monday, November 20th, 2017 at 9:00 a.m.

Carolyn Applegate
Carolyn Applegate was in to visit with the commission about a concern with the Solid Waste Authoricy Brian Smith, Solid Waste Director also joined the meeting During a recent meeting in Hill City with the NW Kansas Planning & Development board Director Randall Hrabe stated he would like to discontinue the Solid Waste Authority due to the paperwork. County Commissioners in attendance did not necessarily agree with the Directors comments and certainly felt a need to continue the plan. Carolyn encouraged the commission to communicate with area commissioners to continue the Solid Waste Authority.


There being no further business before the Board the meeting was adjourned until 11/20/2017. The commission minutes are not considered official until signed and approved by the commission and will remain a working document until approved.

- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nesterhttps://sunflowerstateradio.com
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

McPherson woman sentenced to more than 36 years in prison for second-degree murder, battery on a LEO

McPHERSON – (December 2, 2022) – A McPherson woman...

AG Derek Schmidt files lawsuit alleging illegal practices have inflated insulin prices in Kansas

TOPEKA – (December 2, 2022) – Kansas Attorney General...

Marshall County Commission Meeting Minutes – 11/28/2022

The Board of Marshall County Commissioners met in regular...

NCKL All-League Football Teams Announced

Offensive Line All-League Keegun Beims Jr. Concordia Andrew Hildenbrand Sr. Wamego Luke Young ...