Local Election Series Part III: Jewell County


- Advertisement -

We continue with our series on local elections in our listening area. We go to Jewell County to preview the candidates for available office which will go to the voters on Tuesday next week.

Formoso City Mayor

Vote for One

LaVernia Peters

Formoso City Councilmember

Vote for Two or Fewer

Dorothy E. Sjolander

Jewell City Mayor

Vote for One

Darrell F. Bohnert

Jewell County Commission

Vote for Two or Fewer

Derek Birdsell

Gaye Daniels 

Mankato City Councilmember

Vote for Three or Fewer

Susan L. Abel

Neil (Sam) Becker

Lyle Dauner – I

Stuart Jensen

Marvin Loomis – I

Jim Ross – I

Unified School District 107 – Rock Hills

Vote for One

Position 2: Lori A. Slate

Position 4: Kenny Mizner

Position 6: Lori Yelken

Unified School District 273 – Beloit

Vote for One

Position 4: Joe File

Position 5: Jason Johnson

Position 6: No candidate filed

Unified School District 109-Republic County

Vote for One

Position 4: Loisann Brown

Unified School District 426-Pike Valley

Vote for One

Position 1: Kelly Flavin

Position 2: Troy Carlgren

Unified School District 333- Concordia

Vote for One

Position 4: John Culley

Position 5: Tim Beims

Position 6: Mary Beth Smith

Post Rock Extension District No. 1

Vote for One

Board Member Position 3, Susan Greene

Board Member Position 4, Jim C. Dooley



- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

Jayhawks Move to 5-0 With Dramatic Win Over Cyclones

Via Kansas Athletics LAWRENCE, Kan. – Behind second-quarter touchdowns from...

Fourth Quarter Surge Pushes Wildcats Over Raiders

Via K-State Athletics MANHATTAN, Kan. - Adrian Martinez earlier in...

KNDY Area High School Football Scores – 9/30/2022

NORTH CENTRAL KANSAS LEAGUE Concordia 38, Hiawatha 12 Rock Creek 56,...

Marshall County Commission Meeting Minutes – 9/26/2022

The Board of Marshall County Commissioners met in regular...