Local Election Series Part II: Osborne County


- Advertisement -

Osborne County General Election – Official Candidate List

I, Vienna Janis, Osborne County Clerk/Election Officer of Osborne County, State of Kansas having received a certified list of candidates that filed for various positions to be voted on in the General Election to be held on November 7, 2017 and in accordance with KSA 25-209 do hereby certify the following:

City of Alton:




City of Alton (5 positions)

Council Member

  1. Roy Ballard, 517 3rd Ave.

Wilda Carswell, 415 1st Ave.

Lyle Lewis Jr.,411 Mill St.

Billy C. Peterson Jr.,917 Mill St.


City of Downs:


Justin Towery, 1114 3rd St.


City of Downs

Council Member (2 positions)

John Cary, 1311 Kansas St.

Evan Joy, 1204 N. 3rd St.

Eric Rose, 1015 Delay St.

Michelle Towery, 1114 3rd St.

Jane Van Donge, 713 Division St.


City of Natoma:




Council Member (3 positions)



City of Osborne:


Bradley L. Hackerott, 307 E. New Hampshire St.

John D. McClure, 202 South 4th St.


Treasurer (one position):

Mitch E. Vandament, 140 W. Van Buren St.


Council Positions:

Ward I (one position)

Linda M. Muck, 415 W. Jefferson St.

Ward II (one position)

Diane Eickenberg, 232 S. 2nd St.

Ward III (one position)

Ronald L. Kaser, 110 Gemini Ave.


City of Portis:


Jared H. McCoy, 106 Chatham St.


City of Portis

Council Member (5 positions)

Kelly J. Campbell, 215 East 5th St.

Adrienne V. Karrick, 302 W. 4th St.

Brian Wolters, 203 Walnut St.


USD #271


Board Member

Four year term (3 positions)

Linda Conyac, Stockton


USD #272

Four year term

Position No. 4 (1 position)

Jessica K. Scott-Downs


Position No. 5 (1 position)



Position No. 6 (1 position)

Rodney Hake, Tipton


USD 299

Four Year Term

Position #4 (1 position)

Virgil C. Lawson, Sylvan Grove


Position #5 (1 position)

Danelle Palmer, Luray


Position #6 (1 position)

Laura Griffiths, Hunter

Kylo Heller, Hunter


Unified School District 392

Four year term

Member Position 4 (1 position)

Member District No. 1



Member Position 5 (1 position)

Member District No. 2

Stacey L. Carswell, 231 W. New Hampshire, Osborne


Member Position 6 (1 position)

Member District No. 2

Larry D. Bales, 1197 Co. 388 Dr., Osborne


USD #399

Four Year Term

Three At Large Positions

Quentin Maupin

Adam Zeigler


Post Rock Extension District #1

Board Member #1

Vote for Two

Tresa Albrecht, Downs

Matthew Brent, Alton

Special Ballot Questions:

County Wide:

Shall the following be adopted? Shall the additional one percent (1.0%) county sales tax, pursuant to K.S.A. 12-187(b)(5), in place for the purpose of maintaining the operating budget of the Osborne County Memorial Hospital be continued without sunset?

County Wide:

Shall Osborne County, Kansas, be authorized to issue general obligation hospital bonds in an amount not to exceed $18,735,000 in order to pay the cost to acquire a site, construct, furnish, and equip a new hospital facility thereon, make all necessary improvements appurtenant thereto (collectively the “Project”), and pay cost of issuance and interest on said general obligation hospital bonds during construction of the Project, all pursuant to the authority of K.S.A. 19-4601 et seq.?

Bethany Township:

Shall Bethany Township turn over the maintenance, repair, and construction of township roads to Osborne County, Kansas?

- Advertisement -
Derek Nester
Derek Nester
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.

Share post:

- Advertisement -

Related Headlines

- Advertisement -

Most Viewed

From Sunflower State Radio

KNDY Area High School Football Scores – 9/30/2022

NORTH CENTRAL KANSAS LEAGUE Concordia 38, Hiawatha 12 Rock Creek 56,...

Marshall County Commission Meeting Minutes – 9/26/2022

The Board of Marshall County Commissioners met in regular...

September 30th

We preview the weekend ahead in the Twin Valley League. 

Washington County Tigers Coach’s Corner – Tommy Tryon (Week 5)

Washington County Tigers Coach's Corner - Tommy Tryon (Week 5)