Washington Co. USD 108 Board Of Education Meeting Minutes – 8/21/17

- Advertisement -

District Office Board Room Washington, Kansas
Monday, August 21, 2017 – 7:00 P.M.


Members Present
Jill Hoover, Joe L’Ecuyer, Brad Owen, Jacki Zabokrtsky, Brad Jones, Rhonda Manley, Rod Stewart.

Administration Present
Denise O’Dea, Superintendent of Schools
Vicki Enyart, 7-12 Principal
Amy Hoover, K-6 Principal

Clerk Present
Amy Anderson, Clerk

Guests Present
Tori Zabokrtsky, Scott Romeiser, Doug Thompson, News reporter

1.0 Roll Call/Pledge of Allegiance
The meeting of the Washington County USD #108 Board of Education was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by President Joe L’Ecuyer in the District Office Board Room in Washington, Kansas.

2.0 Approval of Agenda
Jacki Zabokrtsky moved, seconded by Rod Stewart to approve the agenda with the addition of 3.1 Dr. Watson visit – Rod Stewart. Motion carried 7-0.

3.0 Items for the Good of USD 108
A. Recess to visit USD 108 preschool room
The board recessed to visit the preschool room at 7:05 p.m. with the regular meeting to resume at 7:15 p.m.

3.1 Dr. Watson visit – Rod Stewart
Rod Stewart gave a brief overview of Education Commissioner Dr. Randy Watson’s visit to the district on August 16. Superintendent O’Dea will work with Dr. Watson’s office to arrange for him to come speak at an upcoming board meeting.

4.0 Consent Agenda
Jill Hoover moved, seconded by Jacki Zabokrtsky to approve the consent agenda as presented. Motion carried 7-0. Items approved on the consent agenda were as follows:
A. Approve the hiring of Samantha Bessler, preschool para.

5.0 Discussion and Action of Items Pulled from Consent Agenda

6.0 2017-18 Budget Approval
Brad Jones moved, seconded by Rhonda Manley to adopt the 2017-2018 budget as published. Motion carried 7-0.

7.0 Discussion on Football Classification for Years 2018-19 and 2019-20.
Football coaches Doug Thompson and Scott Romeiser recommended to the board that USD 108 go to 8-man football for high school for the 2018-19 and 2019-20 school years. They presented the reasons behind their recommendations, with the main reason being safety of the student athletes. They also felt it might be feasible to go back to 11-man football starting with the 2020-21 season. Joe L’Ecuyer moved, seconded by Brad Jones to move to 8-man football for the high school for the 2018-19 and 2019-20 seasons.
Motion carried 7-0.

8.0 Approval of BOE Policy Updates – 2nd/final reading
Joe L’Ecuyer moved, seconded by Rod Stewart to approve the BOE policy updates as presented. Motion carried 7-0.

9.0 Executive Session
Joe L’Ecuyer moved, seconded by Brad Jones to go into executive session with the superintendent to discuss personnel pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 7:40 p.m. Motion carried 7-0.

10.0 Adjourn Meeting
Brad Jones moved, seconded by Jacki Zabokrtsky to adjourn. Motion carried 7-0.

Amy Anderson, Clerk
Washington County Schools, U.S.D. #108

Previous articleRELEASE: New Joint Venture “FieldReveal” To Expand Ag Retailer Offerings
Next articleUp To 15,000 Watch Solar Eclipse At Homestead National Monument
Derek Nester was born and raised in Blue Rapids and graduated from Valley Heights High School in 2000. He attended Cowley College in Arkansas City and Johnson County Community College in Overland Park studying Journalism & Media Communications. In 2002 Derek joined Taylor Communications, Inc. in Salina, Kansas working in digital media for 550 AM KFRM and 100.9 FM KCLY. Following that stop, he joined Dierking Communications, Inc. stations KNDY AM & FM as a board operator and fill-in sports play-by-play announcer. Starting in 2005 Derek joined the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network as a Studio Coordinator at 101 The Fox in Kansas City, a role he would serve for 15 years culminating in the Super Bowl LIV Championship game broadcast. In 2021 he moved to Audacy, formerly known as Entercom Communications, Inc. and 106.5 The Wolf and 610 Sports Radio, the new flagship stations of the Kansas City Chiefs Radio Network, the largest radio network in the NFL. Through all of this, Derek continues to serve as the Digital Media Director for Sunflower State Radio, the digital and social media operations of Dierking Communications, Inc. and the 6 radio stations it owns and operates across Kansas.